Betta breeding project!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AtoZ Cichlids

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have taken a dive into the world of breeding bettas! After tons of research I've decided this is what I wish to do. I currently have a solid red veil tail and a young female in a breeding setup (practice mutts) I bought 2 females and a male split tail to make my first attempt. I am new to this and found that this thread will be helpful to me as well as others. I have a small 3 gal steralite tub that the pair is in now. I have them on the bathroom counter with some sunlight from shower window, they have a heater for a 5 gallon and a fine bubble air stone, I have the female in a little critter carrier that you could use for crickets, or lizards, or fish, you've all seen them. The carrier is in the water with the water level above the air vents of the critter carrier ( so she has more room and her water doesn't get as dirty as fast because it can flow through to the tub ) I have the carrier rapped in a fake leafy vine. She has a piece of the vine in the carrier for her to have. The male split tail took no interest... At all, she chased him around. So I put my veil tail in there and boy did she like him. He was afraid of her. She would flare up and corner him, he would freak out ( this happened when I tried putting them in the tub together ) I put part of a fish net in the tub for him to build nest out on. They both take some interest in each other ( this was all in the first 3 days ) as of today I did a 85 percent water change. The female loses color and shows her gear stripes every time I put them together. She is not as bright as before even when she is in the carrier. He flares and follows her closely but now she is scared of him. At first she would flare up and spread her fins, face slightly upward with her mouth above water, she then would