Betta needs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jrskater1999

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I am considering setting up a 5 gallon Betta tank. What is all needed for a good setup?

Food get a variety like some blood worms and pellets. You will need a dechlorinator if you have city water. I suggest black sand. Either live or fake plants. And a filter also a heater depending on where you live.

But get some other opinions I'm not an expert on bettas

Last edited by a moderator:
Well, the same as any other tropical fish. Heater, filter, cycled tank. They prefer planted tanks, a still water surface, somewhere to hide like a log or cave, water heated to 80F, a good quality floating pellet, broad leafed plants to rest on, somewhere to get out of the light and no sharp decor.

Mumma.of.two said:
Well, the same as any other tropical fish. Heater, filter, cycled tank. They prefer planted tanks, a still water surface, somewhere to hide like a log or cave, water heated to 80F, a good quality floating pellet, broad leafed plants to rest on, somewhere to get out of the light and no sharp decor.

One more thing... A water level of around 6 inches. They live in stagnant water naturally so filter isnt needed as long as you are happy to keep on top of the cleaning.

One more thing... A water level of around 6 inches. They live in stagnant water naturally so filter isnt needed as long as you are happy to keep on top of the cleaning.

There is no need to keep the water so shallow, and in fact I'd recommend against it. Bettas are extremely curious fish and love the extra space to explore. As long as you have a tall plant or decoration to rest in near the surface they're happy as can be in deeper tanks.