BioWheel & Brush Algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Heathrjoy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,
I'm new here and hoping someone will lend me a hand.

I've been keeping fish for about 4 years now, so I have most of the basics down, and I don't murder my fishums anymore. However, this summer I've had some health issues and have not been able to care for my tank as usual. Brush algae - aka - red algae - Audouinella - the stuff that looks like black puff balls - has developed. I've never dealt with this before. Yippee, a new adventure. :roll:

This is a 29 gal tank, low fish load of a Kissing Gourami, 6 neons, 3 X-Rays, 2 Tetras, 2 Zipper Loaches, and 2 other fish that my SIL gave me. It's a medium/heavily planted tank. I use a BioWheel for filtration and that's my biggest concern. I do not have CO2 injection.

I'll be having surgery in a week or so, it's not scheduled yet. I'd like to be able to take care of this as easily as possible but not lose my BioWheel in the process. A dump and bleach soak sounds easiest to me even though it means I'll have to re-cycle the tank. I could also bleach dip the plants. Any suggestions on the BioWheel? Will the wheel itself hold up to a bleach dip in a 25% bleach solution? I know I'll lose all the good bacteria, but I don't have a choice at this point.

Any other suggestions on how to handle this quickly and easily? I think it's beyond the point of a SAE taking care of it all.

Thanks for reading all of this and any help you can offer.
Heather

First, hows your lighting? How much and how long?

Next, where are your Nitrates, phosphates, ph, gh, kh?