Biting the bullet

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

adams84

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everybody. I hope someone can help. I have owned a fish tank for 10 weeks and just gone from reading internet to help. Now after a few issues I thought I would bite the bullet and finally ask for help! !

This might be a long message as i am going to give you a run down of what ive gone so far. Be prepared to see alot of mistakes as i a a total novice. Then i will ask questions at the end!

Before buying tank i checked what size i can fit into space i had. Then looked what fish and how many would be best for a beginner. I read that small tanks are harder to look after but thought id try anyway.

From day one i misread something. I thought rule of stocking was 1 inch per liter! But after reading again i see its 1inch per gallon

Week1
Bought fish tank (Beta Lifespace H5)
Gravel (black fine)
Real Plants (small grass type and bigger leafed purple plants)
Fake log tunnel
Tropical fish flakes

I got told not to bother testing water until tank is fully cycled after 3-4 weeks.

I set it all up. Washing gravel, log tunnel and plant roots and cleaned tank. Placed it all in the tank. Filled it with with tap water. And set heater for 77 degrees. Treated with dechlorinating liquid and fertilser liquid. Always use the dosage recommended for literage.

I left that to Cycle for 3 days whilst having LED on most the day! The tank is in my bedroom and doesnt get much direct sunlight.

After 3 days i told my brother to go and get 4 or 5 zebra danios whilst i was in work. After advice from the shop he comes back with only 3 (2f + 1m).