Bolivian rams

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

phatpaul

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi. I brought 2 bolivian rams the other day and i asked for 1 male and 1 female. Im not trying to breed them or anything but i thought it would keep the terratorial aggression down abit by getting opposit sexes. Any way im thinking now that they gave me 2 males but im no expert when it comes to these. Any advice would be helpful on them

Attachments

• image-3858615018.jpg
    image-3858615018.jpg
    196.1 KB · Views: 132
  • image-1151482563.jpg
    image-1151482563.jpg
    194.9 KB · Views: 124
  • image-2492857055.jpg
    image-2492857055.jpg
    223.9 KB · Views: 122
Just to clarify, I believe that you have got yourself two German blue rams. I have a Bolivian in my 20g and the Bolivians are much less colorful than that. I have actually been extremely interested in getting a German blue like yours but I heard they are a little bit more fragile to take care of in terms of water conditions.

In terms of the sex, I have read online that there is a little "nub" like object on their bellies. I do not remember the specifics but I know on one sex, its rounder than the other. Look into it. I found it online somewhere. I think I just googled sexes of a Bolivian ram.

Lol i would like to believe they are german rams as thats what i wanted but it one of my lfs there like £45 a pair. I brought these on the way back from that shop, my mrs wanted to stop at the dreded "petsmart" to get sawdust and i noticed these in there. They were put under the description of "bolivian ram" and they were £4 each, so i just couldnt resist them.

They are beautiful fish, I was originally going to buy a German Blue but I chose to get a Bolivian instead. Now I am regretting it and have much interest in purchasing one of these little blue, yellow, and pink beauties.