Breeding Molly's Requirements

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Daral

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello dear enthusiasts!

I am new to the breadth thing and had a few questions:

I have a 10gal tank with 7 Female Mollies and 3 Male ones, they have plenty of space to swim in, and hide as well, 2 air pumps and a water filter.

My questions are:

1. I have had the tank with these fishes for 3 weeks now without a heater/thermometer and no one has passed away, is it recommended to have one? And if so at what temperature should the tank water be at?

2. I keep reading numerous info about water pH and hardness, so I got a small test kit and I can't get the pH to drop, I'm currently at 7.5/7.6, is this ok?
What's the optimum pH for breeding Mollys?

3. On a small separate tank I have 4 baby fry from one of these Molly try are growing really slow for some reason and the pH in that tank is 7.2 without a heater as well, why's best for the fry in regards to pH? And food I've been feeding them micro worms and powdered flakes. Is that enough?

4. Rumor has it that to induce birth water temp increase will do the job? Is this true as well?

Thanks for your time and advice, recommendations, and critics are welcomes so please post your thoughts!

-Nothing better than to be a well informed owner! :)

First that is a lot of fish in a ten gallon tank. I would not keep mollies in anything less than a 20 gallon. Your PH is fine for them, leave it alone. A heater is a good idea as you will want to keep a steady temperature. 78F should be fine for them.

Fry growth is based on temperature, quality of food, quality of water etc.

As far as the heater is concerned, i don't have one in mine and my fish are doing fine. A heater is recommended but as long as you keep your room at a warm temp they should be fine.