bulb question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

noobaquarists

Aquarium Advice Freak
hi guys quick question i have a floramax plant growth 24"L 17 Watt t8 bulb on a 30 gallon tank i was just wondering if this light will be strong enough to grow any plants or if im going to have to upgrade i want a low light low tech low cost setup

plants i have in the tank is hornwort and java fern plants going into tank water lettuce and java moss

Last edited by a moderator:
How tall is the tank? I am not very good at lighting but I think you should be able to grow what you listed.

IMO your Java ferns and Java moss will live but I don't think it will grow very much. I might be completely wrong. The best thing i can suggest is, just try it and see what happens. I wish i could help you better...

I have the same exact question! And funny thing is ..the same exact size tank! Hope you don't mind me tagging along to see more answers. :) i'd like to know what I can grow in this tank (same watts for the lighting) and if I have to get a higher light. And what else can grow in it. What have you had success growing in your tank so far? I'm trying out money wort right now. :) it's been about a week since I got it. So far so good!

That only puts u at 0.5 wpg, very low. I would definitely get more light to have a better chance of growing plants (and a variety of them).

People seem to underestimate T8s quite often. Below is a pic of my 75 gallon planted tank with a single 8000k T8 bulb at 20 inches from the substrate. All the plants are live and, though they grow relatively slowly, they are healthy and growing. No CO2 in this tank but I do use root tabs, water column ferts and Excel. The plants in the tank are: Wisteria, Anubias, H. Corymbosa "Angustifolia", Java Fern, Rotala Rotundifolia, Bleheri Sword, Dwarf Sag and Crypts of unknown specific.