CAE

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Trainer_Ruby_

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I've had some experience with Chinese algae eaters when I first started out keeping fish when I only had a 10g and he got aggressive relatively quick. I realize my tank was massively overstocked and I've fixed that problem. Would the overcrowding be part of the reason he got so aggressive? I know they get that way once they're older but recently I've been having algae problems and I know these guys tear through algae like its nothing and wanted to get some more. I'm planning on keeping one in my 10g and one in my 20g until they clean it up then I'll move them to a 55g tank. There's only going to be 2 cae

Keep calm and drum on

These fish are imho, not good for a community tank. They are generally aggressive and then also they like to suck on the other fish to eat the slime coat I guess and will injure and kill fish.

Algae issues are often something that needs other fixes.

Often it is lighting and phosphates from food, especially flaked food. (I use Hikari brand food most often for general feeding). Also You could be over feeding.

Up your pwc frequency and amounts Help keep the water cleaner can help.

As for lighting I do a siesta period light on 4-6 hours and then off for a couple hours and then on again 4-6 hours (or less if need be I have pretty low light) when you get home from work lets say.

You can use a timer to make it easier.

Possible old light bulbs too???

I would absolutely not use a CAE look into a SAE - Siamese Algae Eater - there are several kinds of fish that look similar so make sure what is really is, research the differences in pattern.

SAE's, or some shops call them ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1437967524.778606.jpgflying foxes, eat many types of algae, even BBA.
They look like this
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1437967463.397839.jpg