Can I add fish now? Fishless cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

55tanker

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to cycling tank and I have been doing fishless cycle for two weeks now but I'm clueless as to what my next step should be. Do you think my parameter is safe enough to throw the 4 feeder zebra minnows I bought a couple weeks ago in to speed up the cycling?

Here's my reading if you can help me decipher if my tank is cycled. I wanted the test kit to last as long as possible so I thought I only needed to test for ammonia which I should have tested everything. Ugh me. "/" means I tested multiple times throughout the day.

9/2 is when I dosed Ammonia and on 9/5 when I read the wrong bottle and thought it was 0 when it was 3 so I dosed again, hence the 8ppm. Ugh me again. I either did 50% water change that same day or the day after.
-------pH ----Ammonia----Nitrite---Nitrate
9/3----7.9-------0.4---------0 -------- 4
9/4 -------------- 2--------- 0
9/5-----8------3/8/4 ------ 0--------- 0
9/6--------------4/2
9/7 --------------2
9/9---------------3
9/? ------------- 3
9/12 ----------- 1
9/13----7.2---- 1 -----------5---------5
9/14 ---7.2----- 0 ----------5 ------- 5

The bottle for nitrite is very purple so it might be higher than 5 or it can be 2. The chart for 2 and 5 is very similar but neither really matched the bottle.

I'm also not good at reading the results as some are so hard to figure out so these what I think it is and sometimes I go between the two numbers.

I assume I have to wait until all the readings are zero across the border before they're "cycled". What should I do to lower the nitrite and nitrate? Should I do another water change? 50% again?

:thanks: for your time.

Last edited: