Can't make a decision. Maybe someone can help?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brianwestchest

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to the aquarium hobby. It's a long story. But, over the course of the last three months, I've acquired the 10 gallon and 40 gallon tanks in my profile. I got great deals on both (well one was free). Now, I'm thinking about setting up a tank in my office. The guy who sold me the 40 gallon setup has a 45 gallon long tank and a 29 gallon tank that he's willing to sell to me, too. Both include heater and filter. The 45 gallon long include a special high powered light for growing coral. I'm not going to be setting it up as a saltwater tank. But, I wouldn't mind being able to grow plants in it.

The 45 gallon long tank doesn't come with a stand and all the stands I've looked at that are 48" long are pretty expensive. Plus, I'd really prefer a shorter tank because I'll have to rearrange my office to put that long of a tank in here. But, I've realized that I want a large tank because the limits of how many fish I can put in a smaller one. I want to have a community tank with several different types of fish- bottom feeders, mid-level dwellers and it'd be cool if I could breed fish, too.

What I'm trying to figure out is if I'll be happy with the 29 gallon tank which I can get for about 1/3 the price of the 45 gallon (neither comes with a stand). The stand would be a lot cheaper, too.

If you are looking to have fish inhabit the different levels, the 29 would probably be better. If memory serves, the 44 is only about 12" high? Tough to seperate the high from mid zone dwellers in 12".

Agreed, ultimately, if you desire fish of different columns, the 29 is best bet if taller. It will not take up as much space either.