Free: Chinese Algae Eater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mooselbell

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Have to part with my Chinese Algae Eater, Mr. Chuen. Had him 11/2 - 2 years. I say he but am unsure boy/girl. When I got him I was a NOOB and didn't know he would need a much larger tank than I can provide, needs approx 125G. I was misled by Pet____ :facepalm:. If someone has the room for him I am willing to send him to you and pay shipping, if in return you can email an occasional pic to my son of Mr. Chuen in his new home. PM me if interested. :thanks:
Mr. Chuen.jpg

How big is he now.
Chinese algae eaters don't need 125gals. They are quite content in 20 and larger aquariums. I would be glad to take him and put him in my 55gal.
Thanks!

How big is he now.
Chinese algae eaters don't need 125gals. They are quite content in 20 and larger aquariums. I would be glad to take him and put him in my 55gal.
Thanks!
20 gallons is way too small,i read they could grow to 14"

He would not go in a 20 gal. Sorry if I confused you there. He would go in my 55gal. tank. 14" is over the size. Below is a description from a website I copied from the Internet. It states they are mature at about 4.5". I have had Chinese algae eaters before and they never exceed 5". They do not outgrow their environment.

Thanks for reading!

Description:
Not the most beautiful of fishes, the body of the Chinese Algae Eater is plain with a notable black stripe from the tip of its "nose" to its tail. Though their color is quite variable, they are often yellowish on the sides, more brown along their back, and have a yellow eye. The stripe is often broken, and there can be black spotting along the back and at the base of the dorsal and caudal fin. They have an under slung mouth which forms a sucking disk, perfect for anchoring to a surface especially in fast moving water.