cloudy tank still!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ryans-planted-tank

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i have started my 2nd tank, and i have tried wood in this one as i have never used it before, i got myself 4 pieces of maple tree root from pets at home and left it to soak for two days, then placed it into my tank for three weeks before i added some fish, i read something that wood colours your waters? which is what i was hoping for, i wanted the tea colour as i want it to look natural, but its gone the tea colour but my waters are still very foggy after 3 months!! do i need to take the wood out and soak them again for longer? or if i leave them in and do reg water changes,will it go on its own?

please help!

daisytron said:
i have started my 2nd tank, and i have tried wood in this one as i have never used it before, i got myself 4 pieces of maple tree root from pets at home and left it to soak for two days, then placed it into my tank for three weeks before i added some fish, i read something that wood colours your waters? which is what i was hoping for, i wanted the tea colour as i want it to look natural, but its gone the tea colour but my waters are still very foggy after 3 months!! do i need to take the wood out and soak them again for longer? or if i leave them in and do reg water changes,will it go on its own?

please help!

I don't think it is the wood that is making your tank cloudy. Is the tank cycled? If not , it might be an ammonia spike and/or a bacteria bloom that's causing the cloudiness. What's your water parameters? We need more info to better help you.