Co2 system questions.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Thats just a super fancy DIY unit, save your money.

If pressurized isnt in the budget DIY does the exact same thing as that, and you can get even fancier with DIY then that kit.

:shotgun:
Thats just a super fancy DIY unit, save your money.

If pressurized isnt in the budget DIY does the exact same thing as that, and you can get even fancier with DIY then that kit.

Its not that it isnt in the budget...Its that I am new to the whole planted scence and was looking for a newb item.

go with a DIY unit then, I run my 52g off 4 2 liter bottles with a 5th 2 liter for a seperator. cost, like 15 bucks.

first of all co2 isnt always a must though it does help in most cases. personally i dont think the diy co2 is that good over 20-30 gallons. it can be done in larger tanks but the prices and work does add up. those 4 2 liter bottles whitedelivil uses in the long run will cost more then a pressurized system. personally i would much rather go with a pressurized system one of those things you can sit and forget about for months unlike most things in the hobby.

2Litres for every 15 gallons is about the maximum you can get. My set up is:

2Litre bottle with yeast/water/sugar mixture. Two holes drilled in the cap, one leading to the tank the other leading to a flow control valve so I can release gas in case I'm producing too much. Then between the tank and the bottle another flow control valve to check my bubble production. The hose leading to the tank ends in an airstone which is situated inside a 1" diameter clear plastic tube that feeds directly into the power head. Sometimes filter floss is put into the tube to slow down the gas diffusion but it always ends up being a hassle as debris gets caught in the tubing a lot when i do it so I've stopped.
It's an easy to maintain set up really.