Coldwater fish and hot summers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Roz

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am new to looking after goldfish and so hope my question isn't too silly.

I have a small 50L tank with three young Fantail goldfish. I am very worried how they will go in the forthcoming summer in Melbourne, Australia. It gets up to 45 degrees Celsius without cool nights, and it can be in the 40s for days. Is there a way to keep water in such a small tank below 30 degrees?

Thank you to anyone who can assist

What I use when my tank water gets hot is the dechlorinated ice cubes, just regular ice cubes in a tray. I'll just a one or two depending on how hot it is. Or just put in some cooler water but not to cold! A drastic water temperature change can really harm fish.

I am new to looking after goldfish and so hope my question isn't too silly.

I have a small 50L tank with three young Fantail goldfish. I am very worried how they will go in the forthcoming summer in Melbourne, Australia. It gets up to 45 degrees Celsius without cool nights, and it can be in the 40s for days. Is there a way to keep water in such a small tank below 30 degrees?

Thank you to anyone who can assist

I really don't like your chances- in Queensland summers I took the hoods and lids off my large tanks to try to keep them under 30 degrees. It didn't work, and I ended up buying a portable air conditioner for them.
One think you need to keep in mind is that your tank is actually far too small for the bioload of your fish- this means your ammonia levels will increase quickly, requiring water changes every other day at least. Ammonia becomes more toxic at higher temperatures, making it all the more imperative that you keep up with the pwcs.