Complete Newbie here .

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Angel-Leaf

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I’m Lea.

We recently purchased a starter Aquarium four our family to enjoy. It has been up and running since Friday 22nd, it is a 19litre tank with a Q112 Aquarium pump, a Delta Therm flat heater 15 Watts. Gravel and a little house, we plan on getting some plants along with our fish in the coming weeks. I have attached a picture ( I think, assuming I have done so correctly.) my issue is the water is very Misty now, despite following instructions and cleaning everything before hand and using a water clarifying solution to make the tap water suitable for fish.

Any advice on what I’ve done incorrectly with the set up would be appreciated as I don’t want to add fish ( and cause harm) is something isn’t right.

Thank you.

Attachments

• 2265E6B0-83F7-4EB9-BCAC-32FB5EDAFDBA.jpg
    2265E6B0-83F7-4EB9-BCAC-32FB5EDAFDBA.jpg
    202.8 KB · Views: 160
Cloudiness is a normal phase a newly set up tank goes through. Its bacteria consuming nutrient inbalances in the tank and growing in such numbers that they become visible. As a tank establishes and "cycles" these nutrients start to balance out and the bacteria start to die out and the cloudiness goes away.

What do you understand about the nitrogen cycle? Do you know how to cycle a tank?