Considering hillstream loaches

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TMRC Exotics

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey guys. I've been considering a tank dedicated to hillstream loaches. I'm aware of their temperature, oxygen and flow reuirements. I've found mixed info on the web, could this be done with around 3-4 in a 20 long? I know a 36" tank is more desirable but the tank is 30". I can achieve the necessary flow and would like to save a few from a heated tank at my lfs. I'm not rushing into it so anyone with experience chime away. Thanks guys.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I have zero experience with these interesting fish but I like the idea of a riverine or stream tank. I'm sure Sini will find this thread soon...

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Should be fine if you can get the flow. I have kept these fish but found them a bit boring and very stubborn! I didn't have a specific flow tank just powerful powerhead and air stones which they loved. They are pretty fish but they don't do much really, just sit in the flow of water. They were quite resistant fish and only died when I left them in someone else's care for two weeks

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Woo! Hillstream loaches are AWESOME!

Yeah, a 20 long would be fine IMO for most species. They aren't bad on bioload, it's just a matter of oxygenation. And they can be pretty active but a 20 long should be adequate. Aim for around 15x turnover per hour.

Here's what I recommend for getting the flow- super cheap to build:
River-Tank Manifold Design — Loaches Online
I haven't tested this notion, but allegedly the one-way flow makes a big difference in their behavior compared to just slapping on a bunch of powerheads.

And I would add an air pump or sponge filter to the tank as well.