Converting to sand.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Greater-Ajax

Aquarium Advice Regular
So,I have never used sand before, nor do I know anyone who does.I want to convert my gravel to sand.

What should I be looking out for? Would it work with my Convicts and my pleco? filters? cleaning?

I have sand in some tanks and rock in others. The number one rule...rinse rinse rinse and when you're done, rinse some more!!
Also when you're adding it to the tank, shut off your filters. Sand will ruin a filter RIGHT now! Cleaning is easy. I stick my syphon hose down in it just like I do the rock. Sometimes a little gets sucked out but not enough to worry about.

Greater-Ajax said:
So,I have never used sand before, nor do I know anyone who does.I want to convert my gravel to sand.

What should I be looking out for? Would it work with my Convicts and my pleco? filters? cleaning?

Good move. I switched to sand and prefer it. Do as lady says and you'll be good to go.

I used carib sea cichlid substrate and love it, but pool filter sand and play sand are popular and cheap.

How big is the tank you're doing?

Heck yes! It is pure white tho, kinda dissapointed about that, Im afraid it will wash my fish out... Thinking about picking up some black blasting sand and mixing it... Only problem is they only sell it in 50# bags around here and I dont need that much... But then again I could have a back up... maybe for another build :)

Heck yes! It is pure white tho, kinda dissapointed about that, Im afraid it will wash my fish out... Thinking about picking up some black blasting sand and mixing it... Only problem is they only sell it in 50# bags around here and I dont need that much... But then again I could have a back up... maybe for another build :)

Oh, I can already tell.....there WILL be another build...lol. :D