Dead fish what happned?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sgc1107

Aquarium Advice Freak
First let me say I'm new to this, I'd like to learn why this happened so I can prevent it next time.

Sunday I bought two damsels, a domino & striped. I acclimated them and put them in my 10 QT. Monday they had signs of ick. I decided to use coppersafe. First added some on Monday and slowly added a bit over the next two days (was not sure if taking it right to 1.5-2 would be a shock, plus I didn't want to go over) they seemed good considering they had ick (I know I needed to continue treating for a few weeks), they were eating fine. I was checking Parameters twice a day, Tuesday I had a Ph drop to 7.8 and slight ammonia spike now quite .25 but not 0 somewhere in between. Wednesday Ph was ok, ammonia was up to .50, did a 3gl water change got it back to .25 (btw nitrate & nitrites have stayed at 0 the entire week) also by wed. I had the copper reading 2.0.

Today:

This morning test results:
Ph 8.2
Amm. .25
Rite 0
Rate 0
Temp 78 (I turned it up a bit)
SG 1.025
Copp 2.0

This is about what it's been at, when I got home found both the damsels dead, their gills were red. Current tank readings:

Ph 7.4!
Amm. .25
Rite .25!
Rate 0
Temp 82
SG 1.026
Copp 2.0

What happned in 8hr? I'm a bit disappointed because I've been working extra hard to keep everything at normal. I hope someone has an answer so I know what went wrong :-(

R.I.P. Sumpie & Douggie!

Attachments

• image-1098139268.jpg
    image-1098139268.jpg
    142 KB · Views: 55
Did you cycle your tank or were you using the fish to cycle it? Ammonia and nitrite is very toxic to even hardy fish like damsels and the combo of the ich and the stress and toxic water killed them. I highly recommend doing a fishless cycle. It is cruel in a way to put a fish in such a horrible toxic environment.