Do mollies and/or platies eat other fish (like tetras)?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jersey355

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm a very green beginner as far as aquariums go...

Anyway, I set up a 15 gallon tank recently and started off with 2 platies and 2 dalmatian mollies (with the longer fancy tails)... a week later or so, I added 5 neon tetras and 2 black mollies (also with the longer fancy tails).

A couple of days later, I noticed that one of the black mollies kept nipping at all other fish, and especially terrorizing the little tetras.

The next day I came home to find one of the tetras had comitted suicide by jumping out of the back of the tank and another was just floating around dead in the tank.

I immediately suspected the bully black molly so I went out and got a small 2 gallon tank to separate him/her from the other fish. I also went out and got 5 more neon tetras and a small algae bottom feeder that just keeps to himself a few days ago.

A couple of days ago, I came home from work to find only 3 neon tetras (down from eight, and there is no trace of the missing 5... and I've looked everywhere inside and outside the tank)!!!

I think when I get home today, I'm actually going to separate the remaining tetras and return the bully molly to the main tank, but... I was told a the pet shop that mollies and platys are great community fish and get along with most fish! Did they lie to me?

Any advice?

I didn't notice you mention gender, can you reply with that please? Mollies and Platys are usually nice community fish, but if they're kept in a "Male:Female" ratio of less than 1:2, the males will become extremely aggressive (usually toward other males, but they could take it out on the tetras). Females on the other hand tend to remain relative peaceful if they're kept in an all-female group.