Driftwood's affect on a 15g tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MoSinister

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I was at the lfs the other day and asked about driftwood. The salesman said he wouldn't put driftwood in a 15g. I was hesitant to question him much about it since he's the expert and I'm just starting out. But I do have questions.

I already know driftwood will lower the ph of tank water. I know it can leach tannins into the water. But can it change a small tank's parameters that fast? My tap water runs on the alkaline side (around 8.5 ph), so I would have thought a piece would help as well as being decorative.

It seems like every tank I see on the Web has driftwood (even the small ones). Are they doing something wrong, or am I being lead too cautiously?

My plans are to take the tank from a classic starter tank (plastic plants and "petco" gravel) to a more natural, lightly planted tank (laterite/flourite and sand substrate, and low-light plants).

Advice would be appreciated.

Well, unless you are very lucky, the salesman at your LFS probably wasn't really much of an expert. LFS salespeople who really know what they are talking about seem to be few and far between.

As for the driftwood, I personally don't like the look of "tea-colored" water. So, I try to soak any driftwood that I buy for a few weeks before adding to my tank. You shouldn't have any problems with driftwood in a 15 gallon tank, or even a 5 gallon tank for that matter.

eah said:
You shouldn't have any problems with driftwood in a 15 gallon tank, or even a 5 gallon tank for that matter.