Dropsy/bloat prognosis

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JSkogh

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
About a week ago, one of my Tiger Barbs started swimming upside down. First reaction was uh oh, this can't be good. I'm relatively new to the aquarium world, so I kept an eye on him to see how he was doing. The poor fish seemed to be getting worse and worse. He was so bloated, he was almost double his normal width. Everything I read in the computer seemed to point to dropsy. I was expecting him to get the pinecone look any moment (but never did). Everything I read seemed to say he was going to die and I should put him out of his misery. I was very close a few times. I have angels in the tank and another Tiger Barb... I didn't want them nipping at him and making it worse.
I ended up doing a significant water change, about 40%, and tossed some aquarium salt in. My sick fish at this point was almost wedged, upside down, between the glass and the filter. I went to bed expecting him to be dead the next morning (again, I almost removed him from the tank at this point but didn't have the heart).
The next day my barb looked normal! He's been swimming around with his buddy and looks and acts like nothing ever happened! Thank God I didn't put him out of his misery.

My question is: is this normal? Everything I read pointed to the fact he had no chance of living. Do you think he's in the clear, or could he still have an issue and die? (Obviously nobody is God, but I'm asking based on your experience and knowledge)

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Welcome!