Duckweed.....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jazzyarizona

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to live plants and would love some info on Duckweed. I really like the looks of it and, from what I understand, it grows in massive numbers. Is this hard to control in a tank ? Can it over take a tank ? Does it always float on the surface, no roots ?

Should I or shouldn't I ?

Thanks so much...
:D

jazzyarizona said:
I am new to live plants and would love some info on Duckweed. I really like the looks of it and, from what I understand, it grows in massive numbers.
Yes

jazzyarizona said:
Is this hard to control in a tank ?
Yes - Unless you happen to have a fish that eats it.

jazzyarizona said:
Can it over take a tank ?
Yes - It will take over your tank unless you have fish that eat it or are really stubborn about removing it at least every water change or are lucky enough to have a tank it doesn't like.

jazzyarizona said:
Does it always float on the surface, no roots ?
Yes and No - Yes it always floats unless it gets tangled in another plant, however it does have roots.

jazzyarizona said:
Should I or shouldn't I ?
You shouldn't - Unless you're planning on using it to feed a fish. There are several other species of floating plants that are much prettier and easier to control.

I believe jazzy wants to do fancy goldfish, and I think those eat duckweed, yes? Someone please chime in. I think she might be able to keep it in check if she's got some goldies to mow it. :)

I also think duckweed looks kind of neat in moderation, but given the chance it will take the place over like a pushy in-law. Which by itself isn't the end of the world until it starts clogging your filter and stuff like that...

I don't know if goldies eat the stuff. I kind of expect that they would...