Eleocharis - Dwarf Hairgrass - Did I screw up?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wyoredman

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Aquatic plant beginner here!

I purchased my first bunch of Eleocharis acicularis today. It came planted in a fiber-like material and a plastic web pot.

When i got it home, I removed the plastic pot and tried to sepperate the roots from the fiberous potting material. It seemed like I was tearing the roots, so I stoped trying to remove the stuff. I simply washed it then planted the whole bunch, fiberous potting material and all into my tank.

My substrate is 2" fine gravel topped with 1" of medium size gravel.

Do I need to pull the Eleocharis up and re-plant it after removing the fiberous potting stuff, or can I just leave it and let it grow?

I have 2 24" Floromax 17W Aqueaon bulbs for lighting and add API root tabs every few weeks. I am curently adding Flourish Excell for carbon. I have some other plants (don't know what they are) that seem to be doing fine. I removed the fiberous stuff from them when they were planted.

The Eleocharis just wouldn't come free from the stuff!

Hello wyoredman

Dwarf hair grass is a moderate/hard plant to care for although it looks so easy!!

First of all for it to thrive it needs very good lighting. High medium to high light levels are required. Your lighting sounds stock?? How deep is your tank??

Second of all seachem excel is a carbon source. It should be dosed daily for its full affect. This will help your dwarf hairgrass but my understanding is that it does better with pressurised co2.