Explain lighting, Please!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Coleallensmom

Planted Tank Enthusiast
I don't like the look of plastic plants and want to go the planted route (in my 36 gal) but don't have $50-100 to spend on a new light strip. My husband and I have been debating about this for a week and haven't come to a solution, so I've decided to ask for help (I'm new to the fish keeping hobby and he doesn't want me to spend more money at the moment then I already have!) I am unsure of the watts in the lighting set up that I have now as it came with the aquarium but it has a T818 24" Marineland Natural Daylight bulb. Is this enough light to keep anything alive and if not, what is a cheap fix?

With that 18W over the tank, you are looking at extra-low light setup. Unless you can supplement the light, you won't have much success with most plants.

Even low-light plants need more than the 0.5wpg that you have to thrive. However, you might try some Java ferns. They will not grow under super low light conditions, but generally won't die either. Another option is to have floating plants. Typically, you lose 50% of the light when it has to pass through the 12-18" of water in your size tank. Plants floating at the surface would get more light. Some floating hornwort might work in your situation.

You might be able to increase the light getting into the tank cheaply. Do you have a glass top? If so, you can hang a shop light (or some other fluorescent fixture) above the tank. Some others have left their tank open top & use office fixtures above for light. <Generally, a 4' tank is best size for cheap DIY light, as 4' shop-lights can be had for under $20. For smaller tank, you can always use the 4' & let it hang over the sides, or opt for 2' fixtures. A really ambitious DIY option is to take a 4' shoplight & make it into a 2' fixture.>