Family Fun Biocube 29g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Desastre

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have been doing freshwater planted tanks for about 5 years while living in PR and have gotten out of the hobby after moving to South Dakota. I agreed with my girlfriend the first tank will be a SW so she can have Nemo go figure. Now with my first son 3 months away I have finally gone full swing to getting back into the hobby. I've literally had this biocube sitting in my living room empty for the past year while getting ready doing research and making sure I was ready as I can be and the time has come. So have everything ordered and have already told my 8 yr old nephew that the time has come as he has also been waiting for this moment as well. I figure get them hooked in the hobby early and show them the joy. So the tank was a steal on Craigslist for $50 with stand so hard to pass up at the time. It was fun to clean but enough vinegar gets everything cleaned.
So now finally in full swing. Got the first chamber false floor knocked out and my intank Media basket has already arrived. Ordered 30 lbs of base rock from reef cleaners which should arrive any day and Amazon has become my new best friend for everything else. So waiting on 20lbs or aragonite sand. 425 koralia power head, api saltwater kit, thermometer and heaters, 160g instant ocean salt, chemipure, purigen, ofc refractometer, and small led light for my attempt at growing Chaeto in the back.
Knock on wood I bought an rodi while living in Puerto Rico and that's one of the few things I actually brought with me and I bought some eggcrate today for a DIY basket for the Chaeto in the back. Already warned my GF and our nephew of the long cycle process but they both know it's worth it to ensure everything comes out right and the fish are happy.