first saltwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bigredd

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey i'm starting my first saltwater tank and i'm thinking of going with a 120 gallon reef tank I have about 7k$ to spend and I'm looking for any and all advice. My good friend recently moved back to town and has offered to helpme since he has always had them but I don't want to be reliant on his advice

120g and 7k to spend i sure wish i had that right now id be stoked.
i am fairly new but everyone says to plan on adding 1.5-2 pounds of LR to the tank with some sand to give about 1.5-2 inches of cover fill her up and begin the cycle WITHOUT FISH but an ammonia source like a table shrimp in a nylon or just thrown in??? or pure ammonia(hard to get now) again i am a beginner but i think that can help a lil bit to kickstart your research and let others chime in and add alot more useful info than i can begin to think of

Since there is lots of information on cycling and such, I will straight skip that and look at equipment. What are you planning on having in your tank? Will it be fish only or are you looking to have corals? If you'll be housing corals, will it be softies only or will you be looking towards LPS and SPS? Are you considering having a sump for your tank?

Since there is lots of information on cycling and such, I will straight skip that and look at equipment. What are you planning on having in your tank? Will it be fish only or are you looking to have corals? If you'll be housing corals, will it be softies only or will you be looking towards LPS and SPS? Are you considering having a sump for your tank?