First time tying plants to drift wood

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Potluck

Aquarium Advice Addict
First time I've ever done this, I think it turned out okay and should fill in nicely, i would like brutally honest opinions on what you all think, as this is my first time and I only get better if people tell me if I did something wrong 20160826_155217.jpg20160826_155226.jpg20160826_155234.jpg20160826_162643.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

I think you did a fine job. In time, the roots should grow and help keep the plants attached.
Tank looks nice. The only thing I'd mention is the white rock in the center. Kind of stands out since the rest of the colors are darker and subdued. Over time as diatoms and algae grow on it, it might not looks so stark. If you do replace it, I would go with a darker rock or continue with the driftwood theme.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Yeah the Texas Holey rock, it will darken and I plan on putting moss on it, but i like it to stand out, makes everything pop. Yeah that was my first time tying plants I still have to add moss fern and a tall low Light colorful plant to separate the greens to make them stand out, thanks fresh
885be6482019a847589d1cd6d015f1d9.jpg

I got something similar from a pet store awhile back. Looks like they used some type of adhesive blob to attach the plant. It seems to be doing quite well in the planted feeder tank. No idea what they used or any details of the process for doing that. Might be something to look into:

driftplant.jpg

My plants are live, are yours? if so it's an aquarium safe adhesive like you see on fake plant decor on the bottom of the base, after a few months the way I did it the roots will be grown into the wood at that time I can take off the string.