First time with live plants, already having trouble...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DanW0007

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm having a couple problems with my tank, thought this was the best place to ask.

I have a 29 gallon tank thats been setup for probably almost 3 months now, with only a few fish in it (2 pearl gouramis, 1 upside down cat, and a soon to be removed australian lobster). I've had different tanks for almost 2 years now, so I'm somewhat experienced, but I'm new to plants, and thats where I need help.

I went to my LFS and asked what I would need to get a good planted tank going, and I was told a twin tube striplight was all I really needed. Seemed a little odd to me to only need that, so I went ahead and bought a C02 system in addition to the light. Got home, set everything up and added a couple potted plants. Now I'm already having problems (sigh).

My plants are dying and it's only been a week maybe since I put them in. I only have 40 total watts, which seemed low to me, but I was assured that it was all I needed if I got the C02 system as well. I take it I got bad info? If I did, how can I add more watts to my tank without having to buy a whole new hood?

I'm not looking to have some incredible planted tank, I just wanted a few potted plants in the back and maybe some mondo grass as my foreground option.

Can anyone help before my two lonely plants are completely gone?

I'm afraid you got terrible advice at your lfs. CO2 is needed only when your lighting is over 2 watts per gallon. As far as your current lighting, you can have a planted tank but only certain species will do well.

What plants did you purchase?