Fish Color and Water Quality

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Abowlby

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm a newbie, and struggling to keep my tank clean. I'm changing 10-20% of the water weekly, but the orange tint and algae keep coming back quickly and it seems to be getting worse.

My test strips have always came back clean, but in the last day or 2 I have seen the nitrite/nitrate levels spike. I've bought some Seachem Prime Fresh to treat my water, and will do another water change today.

My Cichlids are growing and are active and look great! Except for 1 that has completely lost his color, he is still active and acts normal except for the color issue. I will attach pics. I have 5 Cichlids and 5 Tiger Barbs in the tank.

1) Should I do a large water change, 50%??
2) What am I doing wrong!
3) Check out the pics. I bought these 3 fish at the same time, and they were originally grey with black dots. 2 of them have gained awesome color, and the 3rd one had great color but has lost all of it now, he looks like a ghost!

I think I was feeding too much and have stopped. They just always looked so hungry when I walked by. I am now feeding twice/day, and not 3 times. Tropical flakes and Cichlid pellets.

Attachments

• fish 3.jpg
    fish 3.jpg
    260.1 KB · Views: 50
  • fish 4.jpg
    fish 4.jpg
    207.6 KB · Views: 41
First off, when you say water parameters are coming back clean, what are your water parameters exactly?

When in doubt always do a water change.