Fish Growth

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Newfiereefer

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ok I'm still pretty new to SW reef keeping ( 6 months ) and am stuck between my urge to get a yellow tang ( fav fish ) and the fear that he will out grow my tank . I have a 55g with 50 lb of rock. And my LFS ha a tiny yellow tang , I am wondering how fast SW fish grow and will they always grow to max size , I have had my Clarkie clown since cycling ( fish in , knowing what I know now would not have done that to him ) so for the last 6 months I have seen now growth in him an I have seen other Clarkies 3X his size but my lil guy hasn't changed, so I'm just wondering if the tang will take several years to reach max size ... If so I'd be happy to have a tang for a few years and then donate to a LFS for a bigger home.

Uh oh! Thread police goin to get you for bumping threads! Ha ha. If that's your favorite fish and don't mind donating him if he outgrows ur tank then I say go for it. Not an expert on fish growth at all but the best way to learn anything is to dive in!

It's my understanding that the fish will NOT grow to full size but it's organs will there by causing huge problems with crowding of the organs resulting in premature death The tang will out grow your tank in 6 months to a year, if it were me i'd spend the cash on a larger tank A 75 or a 90 has nearly the same foot print as a 55

Grizz said:
It's my understanding that the fish will NOT grow to full size but it's organs will there by causing huge problems with crowding of the organs resulting in premature death The tang will out grow your tank in 6 months to a year, if it were me i'd spend the cash on a larger tank A 75 or a 90 has nearly the same foot print as a 55