Fish in cycle (danios)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Boogs84

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to fish keeping, and i have recently purchased my first aquarium (Marina 60 Litre). Looking at most the post on this forum suggest that a fishless cycle is the best way to cycle your tank. I followed the LFS advice which was to do a fish in cycle, as I didn't come across this page beforehand. I set the tank up and used the aquaclear and aqua plus treatment kit for the first 3 days, then i purchased 4 Danios as told by the LFS. Now the danios have been in the tank for 5 Days and I'm not sure when i should do the first PWC, any advise would be welcome as each fish store seems to give me contrasting information.

Cheers

For the sake of your fish, you'll need to monitor your Ammonia and NitrIte levels, and anytime either of those get to 0.5ppm or greater, do a PWC.

Make sure you're using a good, quality liquid test kit. I recommend the API Master Freshwater Test Kit.

Neilanh's post is right, if you have four fish in the tank the levels need to be checked. How long has the cycle been running? What are your levelels at? How much are you feeding the fish. I waited until the cycle was almost complete to add 3 danios and 3 red minor tetras and seemed to have luck with that. Remember to also let the fish help the tank mature and for bennificial bacteria to establish at least on the gravel if no other structure in tank. I know adding fish is a great thing to look forward to but it is important to wait. I went too quickly. I just got rid of my danios as I found they are bullies and tormented my other fish. Maybe mine were abused as fry. :) Good luck and we're all here to help!

Hi again,

Sorry i didnt reply sooner it was my birthday yesterday and I've been busy busy.