Fish-less cycling a 55 gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gus

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello,

I'm 2 weeks into cycling a 55 gallon tank. I seeded the filter with stuff from my small 10 gallon tank (an old filter and gravel), and I'm already seeing about 10 ppm of Nitrates. I initially dosed 6 ppm of Ammonia, but 11 days into the cycle, when the Ammonia was down to 1 ppm, I dosed it again to bring it back to 6 ppm. Should I keep the ammonia to 6 ppm?

Also, when is my tank officially cycled? This is my first time cycling with Ammonia, and what a big difference from cycling with fish! I sure don't miss those water changes or dead fishes.

Ph is in the 8's. This is gonna be a Mbuna tank, so I used a lot of big river rocks and silver sand.

Thanks!

When I do a fishless cycle, I only dose ammonia to 4ppm. But that's me. Your tank is officially cycled when you dose Ammonia and 24 hours later it has dropped to 0ppm + your nitrates spike.

What about NitrITE? what are those readings at the moment?

Nitrites are about 1 ppm. So it'll be ok if I let the ammonia go down to zero and dose it again with 4 ppm? Or should I keep the 6 ppm? I'd like to get the max amount of bacteria right away, so I can introduce all the fish at one.

Thanks!

What is your

Ammonia -
NitrItes -
NitrAtes -

Ideally you want 0- def want, 0 - def want, and under 10ppm for nitrAtes

By adding more ammonia your just doing what you'd do with fish and uneaten food...etc.

So.. IMO.. let your perimeters get to the ideal there and then prolly can add a few fish... let them start a bio-load with that then add some more. rince and repeat.