Fish suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kwenbee

Aquarium Advice Activist
Well, now I have more questions....you all are going to be so sick of me and my questions...

We now have the up and running 10 gallon with healthy, happy fish. One new guppy seems to be surface hovering, but so did his recently deceased predecessor, so I figure it's a guppy thing, I just don't understand. We are planning to add some otto's this weekend (thanks Alli) to keep the bottom clean.

We have the newly installed 5 gallon that right now only houses Bill the Betta. He will be getting a few friends this weekend as well because I don't think the tank will cycle well with just him in it. Since I am now an expert (ha ha) at cycling tanks, I realize water changes are in my future with this tank, and I know not to add too many fish. I kind of am leaning toward glowlights and corys because I know they are small.

Now, and please don't tell me nothing because I hate seeing it sit empty, the 1 gallon that used to house Bill the Betta needs some tenants. Any suggestions on small guys who would be okay with no heater and no filter. I plan to bring it to my office, which is a bit chilly, so I need some guys who can deal with colder temps. If none exist, I'll leave the tank setup in my kitchen at home.

Kwenbee....

Hmmmm....a tiny tank with no filtration and no heater in a chilly office. Try as I might I can't think of a single type of tropical fish that would do well under those conditions. In fact...I can't think of any non-tropical fish that would do well under those conditions either. You might consider putting a plant or two in it (I'm assuming you will have some sort of light on it) and housing a couple of small shrimp like ghost shrimp. Could be an interesting tank!