Fishless cycle two tanks same time different results

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Moshi78

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Greetings.. Newbie here to the forum. Ive had tanks before stopped with the hobby and then started again. Recently I bought a 75g and a 10g as a q tank. The 75 I dosed with maybe 3 ppm ammonia. That was almost four weeks ago. At about day 12 I read nitrites at about .5 - 1. The next day they were gone, but there were no nitrates. That was about two weeks ago. I still have no nitrites or nrates. Ammonia did dip a little but not much. Any idea what happened? They obviously appeared, but literally next day vanished? Question 2, the 10g I dosed with 1 ppm ammonia and figured I would experiment for kicks with tetra safe start. After almost two weeks ammonia is dipping a bit but no nitrites; however I am showing nitrates are starting. Tested my tap to make sure. Is that normal with t.s.s. I only tried tss in the 10g to experiment..thanks in advance. Sorry so long of a post.