foul smell from tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

feasty33

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys & gals,

I'm extremely new to the world of fish and aquariums, so please bear with me!

We recently bought a brand new setup for our son's bedroom.
Its a fairly small freshwater tank (14 x 10 x 6 inches WxHxD) and contains 3 small minnows (I think they're minnows, my wife bought everything).

The bottom of the tank is lined with gravel that was purchased at the same time as everything else.
There is nothing else organic in the tank (a few little ornaments only).

Everything was fine until we turned on the aerator pump.
Once its on there is a foul smell coming from the tank.
It sort of smells of faeces, maybe a trace of sulphur, but not ammonia.

If we turn off the aerator the smell does reduce, but not completely.

I've read about air pockets in the substrate, but I presume that only applies to organic matter that's been there for a while.
The gravel fits neither of these criteria.

We don't know what to do, as it is its unfair on the fish I presume, but also its our son's bedroom so unfair on him too!!

TIA

Dave, Kim & Jack