Friend gave me an aquarium...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NJHollwood

Aquarium Advice Newbie
About 6 weeks ago, a friend of mine gave me this aquarium. I was hoping someone could help me identify it. From what I could gather online, I thought it was a Biocube 29, however I purchased a cartridge filter (the packaging of which said it would fit several biocube models inlcuding the 29), and it didn't fit.

Either way, as you can tell, I'm very new to all this and have many, many questions. The salesman at Petco has been very helpful and has been guiding me through the process. First, he had me add sand, fill it with salt water, and leave it running for several weeks. The following week I purchased two live rocks. Two weeks later, I added three hermit crabs, and three damsels (I think...one is blue with a yellow tail and the other two are zebra striped).

My questions are:

-What kind of tank is this?
-What size?
-The hinges on the hood are broken, it also has one light out and I think one of the fans may not be running, where can I buy replacement parts?
-The water has been running a little warm, around 82-83 degrees and I have even gone as far as unplugging the heater. Do I need better circulation to get a more accurate reading? If not, what steps can I take to reduce the temperature?
-What can/should I stock this tank with? I was thinking about sea horses, but am very much so open to ideas.
-Is there anything I should do differently or can you offer any suggestions/advice?

Attachments

• photo (7).JPG
    photo (7).JPG
    98.3 KB · Views: 128
  • photo (9).JPG
    photo (9).JPG
    84.7 KB · Views: 130
  • photo (8).JPG
    photo (8).JPG
    102.2 KB · Views: 122