From scrath to freshwater to saltwater within a week

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

IronHide1986

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am completely new to aquariums. I have never had one before until this past week. I have had friends that had nice looking freshwater, some with betas, others with some African Cichlids. I finally decided to start my own.

I started with a 10 gallon. I was told that this would be a good starter size. I bought two Oscars, a lace cat, and some Kenyii. Now...as you can see, I wasn't very smart. Since I bought these at Meijer (similar to Wal-Mart) they salesman didn't know jack. So I decided going to the LFS and get some advice and accesories.

Upon telling the salesman at the LFS about mixing the Oscars and the Kenyii, he strongly recommend me to separate them, that they would be too agressive, especially for a 10 gallon.

So I returned those and bought some Tropheus Duboisi's. Cool cichlid, I really like them.

Having two of those in a 10 gallon with one Lace Cat, and having the pH level adjusted properly, I ran into the thoughts of getting a bigger tank. There was a grand opening sale for a new LFS, so I went there and got a decent deal on a 20 gallon High.

My current setup is two Duboisi's, one Mboko yellow, two yellow labs, and two lace cats. I am starting to think that it's too many fish for the 20gH. In fact, I know it is, and on top of that, I moved them in too fast. Even further, there shouldn't be any fish in the tank yet. Hasn't cycled yet. (been doing research).

I have been looking at creating a Nano Reef. This is my plan of action:

1) Taking the fish back (all seven).
2) Buying some Instant Ocean.
3) Buying some LiveRock.
4) Waiting...LOL!