FW Inverts at a glance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HN1

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am by no means an invert expert, but we do keep and have kept a pretty good variety of them so I thought I'd post our observations and a basic intro to each type that we've had. I'll add to these as thoughts strike me or as we get new stuff in. I'll add some pics soon as well. The inverts in the hobby vary greatly, but share a few common needs. I'm limiting this to FW, but IME they share a lot in common with the SW snails and shrimp that we've kept. They do best in an established tank that has been fully cycled for ~ 6 months. Some are hardier than others, but all will succumb to copper in the water. While some folks claim that silicone will leech copper if medications have ever been used in a tank, I've never seen any proof nor do I believe there is any documented proof of it. The limitation of not using copper should not be a problem in a FW tank. Inverts, again in general, are more fragile than fish and can be decimated by some simple mistakes. They also need a source of carbonate hardness in the water in order to shell build. This can be from the water naturally or the addition of a calcium supplement (liquid, cuttle bone, aragonite, etc.). Please research each individual species before adding it to your tank. There are several invert and planted tank sites out there that have excellent information.

Let's start off with snails and the most common and “controversial” of them all, the dreaded pond snail.

Pond snails a.k.a Japanese trapdoor snails- (Lymnaeidae):