Fw tank to brackish, fry and mollies!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jennifer243

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all,
I'm new to this and in need of help.
On Tuesday I set up a 10 gallon FW tank with 10 lbs gravel 3 high bushes, betta grass (fake) and 3 caves.
On wednesday I bought a female betta, 2 mollies (balloon belly and black) unsure of sex, and 1 red mickey mouse platy also unsure of sex since petsmart employee couldn't differentiate.
The tank has a filter, a light and a heater set at 78-80.
On thursday I noticed fry swimming in the tank, and before I could even google what to do next the betta was eating one! I removed her and spent all day searching for and separating fry into a breeder tank. Total of 6. I have no clue who the mother is.
I've been feeding the fry 3 times a day strained egg yolk, flakes, and freeze dried brine shrimp and they seem to be doing well.
Last night though (friday) I noticed the balloon molly and 3 fry doing the "shimmy" and researched that they thrive in brackish water.
My water parameters are ideal.
Questions:
How to transition to brackish?
Can platy survive in brackish?
What could lead my once clear water to now (saturday) being cloudy?
And any tips on raising fry would be most appreciated.
Sorry so long, thank you for your input and time!

Hi

Welcome & great info so far!

The first thing to do is to learn how to cycle your tank so that the toxin levels are healthy. This is most likely what is causing the shimmy.

Here is a good article. :)

I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice[/QUOTE]

The fin nearest the tail, on the underside of the fish is different based on gender.

This is a female platy I have:

image-3043417589.jpg

This is a male molly:

image-3369954599.jpg