garf.org stand questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JProx

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys,

I moved about 8months ago, and had to dismantle my saltwater tank, now the unpacking is finally done and I would like to setup my tank again. However my particle board stand for my 55gallon is toast. It had a great run (11yrs) but in the end bad construction materials led to its downfall. I am thinking about building the stand diagramed at garf.org under its diy section. I am not craftsman by trade, but have built many things in the past, have all the proper tools, and need a project to blow a weekend on.

Has anyone built one using their plans? How sturdy are they?
Has anyone made any additions/improvements to garf's plans for better stability, longevity? are there any safe sealents that i can use on the frame before it's skinned ?

thanks for looking, and any comments will be greatly appreciated.

I built a stand using their plans on Thursday. I only have the frame done, but you can see pics here:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=15423

Mine is for a 125 gallon. I still haven't added the wood top, sides, or trim, but even without the added stability I would feel comfortable putting the full tank on it today. It's like a rock.

I'm not a craftsman either... I haven't made any real changes to the design yet. I plan to:

- seal the 2x4's with deck sealant. Probably totally unnecessary, but I have the sealant left over from my deck so why not?
- skin the sides and front, and have probably 3 doors. The big one in the middle will access my filtration.
- add little shelves inside to put all my stuff on; air pump, filters, fish food, etc.
- add a little flourescent light on the frame so I can see what I'm doing.
- mount the powerbar(s) for everything on the 2x4's so they're out of the way.