genetically engineered fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Phoenixphire55

Aquarium Advice Freak
Anybody know of any other genetically engineered fish? I'm not interested in buying any but I think its interesting to see how GE has crossed over into the aquarium fish market. I worked in a lab which studied the long term effects of GE on crop plants and some of them can get really messed up many generations down the line. I'd be interested to know if anything like that has been seen in GE fish.

How do you think we got BIO-luminescent displays in the first place?

They are using the fish as a means (host) to manufacture a product (bio-luminescence) they can't get cheaply otherwise. They took luminescent sea creatures from the S. Pacific, took the DNA that produces the luminescence and injected it into certain easily bred fish. It just happened that someone thought it would be cute to be able to sell some to the public too to make a few extra $$'s. It does not harm the fish in any way.

Well, except for the fact they can't hide at night......

But, except for certain deep water SW fish, how well do you think these glo fish would do in the wild?

Sitting targets I think. They wouldn't last very long with predators around.

Too bad we couldn't steal a little bit of the genetic info and transplant it into the US Congress & Senate...

Then we would all know who the glowing idiots were. LOL :)

Aren't Flowerhorns genetically engineered? I've definitely heard them referred to as "mutants" before.

2cnh0fk.jpg

Last edited:
How do you think we got BIO-luminescent displays in the first place?