ghost shrimp breeding

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TidBitz

Aquarium Advice Freak
I went and got a lot of ghost shrimp for my leaf fish to hunt ant decided to take a shot at breeding since I had I a 15g I just broke down and was laying around. I took enough acclimated water out of my big tank and filled er up. I have 19 ghost in there now seeing as I wouldn't be able to catch em out of my 55g. I'm sure I need to change filtration out due to the current, I am brand new at breeding these guys so can I have any other input on it please and thank you in advance. I also have a mystery snail in there and a few MTS do I need to be concerned with them eating the hatch lings <(can't remember the word) ? It has been running with shrimp for 4 days now with one juvenile loss.

ForumRunner_20130115_135411.jpg

They should breed on there own but ithink the babys will quickly get eaten by other shrimp theres not enough hiding spots

Macdaddydaze said:
They should breed on there own but ithink the babys will quickly get eaten by other shrimp theres not enough hiding spots

Not enough hiding spots, salt, or planktonic algae....

If you want to raise shrimp for feeding, have you thought about some low grade cherry shrimp? They are very easily reproduced and require no real special care.

Not enough hiding spots, salt, or planktonic algae....

If you want to raise shrimp for feeding, have you thought about some low grade cherry shrimp? They are very easily reproduced and require no real special care.

I have actually just don't like the prices for the amount (I'm cheap) but will be getting some eventually.

Better???? All real plants except for one in jar (old used plants with algae).
What do you mean by salt? Salt is not needed for breeding shrimp!!
ForumRunner_20130118_130245.jpg