Glo Fish eating one another

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ShockerFX

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello forum I have just joined the forum and I am fairly new to aquariums I purchased for glo fish initially and three passed in the days all at once I had my water tested and it came back high for ammonia so I adjusted with some chemical and waited in several days I had the water tested again and it came back clean and clear so I purchased two more glo fish to keep the surviving one company the next day the surviving fish passed I did some research and found that my water temperature was to high and that oxygenation was only happening at the top of tank and that explained the fishes behavior of hovering near the surface and why one of the new ones was doing the same I immediately adjusted but not too fast as to shock the remaining two and waited a week or so in said time the larger glo fish bullied the smaller one nipping at fins and such so after the week I had the water tested again all clear once more and added four more glo fish to try and calm the aggressive fish picking on the smaller one it seemed to work for a couple days until today I got home and the entire tail of the injured fish was gone how do I help him and how do I stop this please help

A few years ago I had guppies that did this, and they all died from getting tails eaten by the big one. I didn't know what to do when my guppies did this, but I would say to put the injured fish into a separate tank/bowl for him to heal. I can't help you with the other fish's aggressive behavior, but i would say definitely let the injured one heal so that he will be less likely to get picked on when he goes back to the big tank. The weaker he gets, the more he will be attacked most likely.