Goldfish in 10gal tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TC_Beats

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Newbie here. Bought a 10gal tank - looking to cycle it and get (3) small goldfish - black moor, ryukin, and an oranda (maybe add a loach). I've read on here that 10gal is too small for a goldfish, who apparently need 30gal or more.

I want to know what to expect if I put only (3) small goldfish in that tank - their bodies are about 1 inch long + the tail, so they're all young fish.

Can I expect a year out of them before they out grow the tank? Two years? At that point I'll transfer them to a friends outdoor pond?

I really don't want to get anything bigger than a 10gal for now and the kids have their hearts set on goldfish. I plan on weekly water changes, so that 's not a problem.

Thanks for any advice.

I dont think this is a sound plan... as a beginner I made the same mistake. I put 3 ryukins in a 20 gallon. The ammonia was out of control right off of the bat, even with massive dialy water changes. I ont think you wouls make it to a year. Bigger tank or different fish is the only solution

My son wanted some fish for his 6th birthday, and he was set on goldfish too. I told him that goldfish were poo-machines (he thought that was funny) and they required a really big tank. So we went to Petsmart and looked at the fish that would fit in a small tank. He liked the cherry barbs. Now we have 3. Very fun, active little fish.

Maybe a trip to the LFS would get them interested in another type of fish?