Gravel vac with eco and plants?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Posivated

Aquarium Advice Activist
Whats the best way to clean my eco complete around my plants? Or is it not needed?

Whats the best way to clean my eco complete around my plants? Or is it not needed?

I'm extremely new to the planted side but from what I've read. You don't vacuum your planted substrate, with something like Eco Complete I think you would do larger weekly water changes rather then vacuum, especially if its heavily planted. I could be wrong though so.... I'll wait for more experienced members to chime in.

EDIT:

Correction. I think with any well planted tank if doing ferts your gonna want to do larger weekly water changes. Not just with Eco Complete like I stated above.

Alright, well my tank is almost done being cycled and I've only had my plants for about a week. I've been using API leaf zone so far, so I should just do larger water changes than normal? How much larger?

Would love to see some pics!! What size tank? I have a 27 gallon cube and I plan on doing up to a 75% weekly water change. I don't think a 50% would be good enough. But... I also have several ferts I'm dosing the tank with.

Mines only a 20g long, not heavily planted yet. Waiting on finding a nice piece of driftwood or two before I commit heavily to anything (Hard to find around my area).

With densely planted tanks, you don't vacuum the substrate as that can damage roots systems. As I start a water change, I wave my hand over and through groups of plants to loosen up any debris - uneaten food, loose pieces of leaves, decaying leaves, etc. - and then you can get those with the vac or let the filter tank smaller debris out.