Green Algae... what is it?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hei12

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I am new to this, but I have a question that I hope someone can answer... I attached two pictures. I have a 100 gallon FW tank and this green algae is on the sand, log and walls. I don't know what it is, so I can't get rid of it. Does anyone know what it is and how to make it go away??

Attachments

• 2011-10-07 14.57.33.jpg
    2011-10-07 14.57.33.jpg
    227.7 KB · Views: 72
  • 2011-10-07 14.57.48.jpg
    2011-10-07 14.57.48.jpg
    195.3 KB · Views: 64
Hi! I just (kind of) tried to address a similar problem in 'texaspepper''s question about green algae. I think you may have a similar problem. Check out the above thread and see if my answers help. How are your nitrate levels? How often do you change the water and how much do you change (%)? I will try to help but im not an expert on this!

Green Algae

Hello hei...

Appears to be "Green Algae" to me. This type usually sticks to the walls of your tank, like a kind of film. I believe the term is "unicellular algae".

This type of algae is caused by high levels of phosphate and/or nitrate in the water.

The usual remedy is several, large water changes. Change half the tank water every two to three days and service your filter equipment. Be sure to do a thorough vacuuming of the gravel too, if possible.

A long term remedy is to get more plants into the tank. Faster growers are best, like Water sprite (floated), varieties of Hygrophila, Anacharis, Pennywort, Hornwort, etc.

B

I just tested my nitrate levels, and they are coming out at 0 like usual. I do 20-25% PWCs every week, and I have a lot of plants but they stopped growing right about the time this stuff started forming. I just added some algae stuff so I will see if that helps any.

But definitely keep the advice coming :) Thanks!