Guppy fry

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SpaceFish42

Aquarium Advice Addict
I recently bought ten guppies, and four of the six females came pregnant. I don't have enough space for several hundred guppies, so I need to sell them when they are born. What would be the best way to transport them over short distances? Any tips on keeping guppy fry? This is my first time with guppies, so I can never be too prepared. Thanks in advance!

I recently bought ten guppies, and four of the six females came pregnant. I don't have enough space for several hundred guppies, so I need to sell them when they are born. What would be the best way to transport them over short distances? Any tips on keeping guppy fry? This is my first time with guppies, so I can never be too prepared. Thanks in advance!

Not sure about anyone else's experience but any livebearers I kept other than Endlers ate their own fry.

I have a safe place for the fry where they can't be eaten. So the smart ones will survive.

I have a safe place for the fry where they can't be eaten. So the smart ones will survive.

If you don't want fry why not get rid of the safe place? Other than very rare or unusual strains I doubt you'll make much money on guppy fry.

I don't want them to die just because there are too many. I think things like culling are cruel and unnecessary. And the local fish store did have some fairly unusual ones.

I already found some people to sell to. I just want to know how to transport the guppies.

I already found some people to sell to. I just want to know how to transport the guppies.

If transporting by mail: buy some Kordon Breather Bags and heater packs. They are found easily online. I would recommend USPS Priority.

If transporting by car: just keep enough water in a container that it retain heat for the car ride, but not splash all over your upholstery.