Guppy gave birth... Please help.. Newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sandip

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi Everyone
I am in a very difficult situation now and need some emergency advice.

I have a 16 L tank in which I had a female guppy for someways now. 2 days ago she gave birth to 15 babies. They are all active and healthy. During giving birth she wanted to eat them so I stayed there and separated them from the mother one by one. I kept them in a small plastic container as I did not have a breeder box in hand. Now it's already 2 days they are in the container and the mom is in another 80 L aquarium. This 16 L aquarium is new and not cycled yet and it's empty now. I wanted to do a fish in cycle so I bought this guppy (yes I know guppies not so hardy to do fish in cycling but I just wanted to have one). I kept the cup with the babies hanging inside the aquarium so it can stay warm but there is no water entering inside it. I am giving them powdered flakes made specifically for babies. Today morning I saw them swimming on the top of water and I was worried may be there is high ammonia. I did a test and it's around 2 ppm now. Although according to the ph and water temperature till 3.5 ppm it's not toxic for fish but i think fries will be affected. I did around 30% water change immediately. Few fries are still swimming on top.