guppy help..

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

darren1989

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there i was just wondering if anyone could see from the pictures how long my guppys have before they drop their fry they are currently in a double hatchery as this is my first time and wish to keep the fry, the actual guppys are not that old so not sure how big they will get, but on one of the guppys the gravide spot has little black dots :-_ thank you

Attachments

• 20140826_164638.jpg
    20140826_164638.jpg
    220.5 KB · Views: 70
  • 20140826_164628.jpg
    20140826_164628.jpg
    206.8 KB · Views: 71
  • 20140826_164617.jpg
    20140826_164617.jpg
    192.9 KB · Views: 69
  • 20140826_163841.jpg
    20140826_163841.jpg
    146.5 KB · Views: 62
It's hard to say, I would guess soon. But when they're in the smaller space too early they may get stressed and not drop the fry. (At least in my experience) do you have any males?

What I'm thinking you should do, is watch the females. Leave them out in the big tank and keep an eye on when the fry come so you can remember for next time when to love the female. If you can check them several times a day you may be able to rescue some fry before they all get eaten.

5-10 fry are easier to care for than 100 each one can potentially drop. Multiply that by how many females you have... And a good point to doing it this way, most of the weaker slower fry will get eaten and the ones you see hiding in the plants are usually stronger and healthier. It's a good way to let some natural selection occur.

Sent from my iPhone