Guppy Nursery

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Robynleigh

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi all, I am needing to set up my lil 20ltr as a nursery for the mass amount of guppy fry i have coming through at the moment.

How do I go about this? Any tips etc would be great as I'm new to all this

Hi all, I am needing to set up my lil 20ltr as a nursery for the mass amount of guppy fry i have coming through at the moment.

How do I go about this? Any tips etc would be great as I'm new to all this
Some people use tanks with only sponge filters, nothing else. Some use a full tank set-up, substrate, fake/real plants. You could go with the sponge filter and some fake plants, bushy type plants. The fry can hide out in these. You just have to make sure the sponge filter/other filter is cycled. Also add some pantyhose over the siphon when doing your water changes.....

Is it absolutely vital to have a filter straight away?? I don't have one handy for them and won't be able to get on til next week :-/ my babies are getting eaten up!!

The sponge filters are really cheap. That's what I use in my fry tank. You'll want to change the water a lot. That's one of the tricks to the fry tank. Some directions say daily, but that's normally for really big batches of fry.

You'll never be able to save all the guppies. Eating the young is part of their life cycle. It's fun to have some babies though. I'm just saying accept that you can't save them all.

If you have an air pump available, you could use the air driven corner filter you posted in another thread (until your sponge filter arrives). Flow through the filter should not be too strong for the fry if you regulate the air flow.